25 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2008 2:23 PM by Fighting Sticks

Filmlook effect?

Is there a 2:3 pulldown effect for Premiere Pro CS3 that can be applied to a clip to make it look like film?

I'm a former AVID Xpress Pro user and AVID has a preset effect called "FluidFilm 2:3 Cadence" which you can drag-and-drop on a standard 30i video clip which converts that clip to 24p.

It's a cool effect and I was wondering if Premier Pro CS3 had something similar? Or do I have to use After Effects or buy a plug-in effect?
        • 1. Re: Filmlook effect?
          Jim_Simon Level 8
          There's nothing included free.

You can try DVFilm Maker or Magic Bullet Frames. Both produce decent results, though neither is perfect and both still create artifacts. The good news is that those artifacts probably won't be noticeable to the average viewer, especially if they've never seen the original DV footage.

DVFilm Maker I think has the better deinterlacer, and produces the better results overall. It's also $50 cheaper than Frames. But it's a stand alone application only, and it only offers a 16:9 crop. Which for me means an export out of Premiere, through DVFilm Maker, then import that back into Premiere so I can get an export with the proper 1.85:1 cropping and with chapter markers for Encore. DVFilm Maker also has an adjustable "add grain" option to further simulate film.

Frames is a plug-in for both Premiere and After Effects, and has many more cropping choices, so that's nice. But, it is $50 more, doesn't do quite as nice a job as DVFilm Maker (though it can be pretty close), and on my system seems to take much longer to render.
          • 2. Re: Filmlook effect?
            Harm Millaard Level 7