17 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2008 5:50 PM by Jim_Simon

Capturing in Mpeg but want AVI

The school has recently purchased new PC's and the CS3 package.
      On previous PC's I was able to capture in AVI from our Sony HDV cameras into Premiere 1.5.
      On the new PC's with Premiere Pro CS3 it captures in mpeg. Any ideas why this is and how I can capture in AVI again? No-one seems to have the answer! I'm so worried about my students projects.
      I've heard that mpeg is only going to provide difficulties.
      Please help!
        • 1. Re: Capturing in Mpeg but want AVI
          Harm Millaard Level 7
          By saying 'my students' I assume you are the teacher. If so, I suggest a crash course in video editing in general and PP in particular. HDV is by definition MPEG compressed. AVI is just a wrapper that does not tell anything about the contents (codec).
          • 2. Re: Capturing in Mpeg but want AVI
            Level 1
            Yes I'm a teacher, which equals lack of resources and time! ICT don't know anything about it but they've put all this new gear in my hands. I have done quite a bit of research into PP already (hours!) and I had 1.5 working fine. I really have come to a dead end and I'm starting to get stressed over something you could probably answer in 2 mins. please explain this to me further. Is it OK that its capturing in mpeg? Help!
            • 3. Re: Capturing in Mpeg but want AVI
              Harm Millaard Level 7
              > Is it OK that its capturing in mpeg?

That is how it should be. Did you look at a crash course? A teacher should master the stuff he is teaching. Creative minds always have been known to survive any kind of bad training, but that is no excuse for not knowing your stuff.
              • 4. Re: Capturing in Mpeg but want AVI
                Eddie Lotter Level 4

You will find links to many free tutorials in the PremiereProPedia that will quickly show you how things are done in Premiere Pro.

Cheers