14 Replies Latest reply on Dec 1, 2009 8:31 PM by the_wine_snob

MPEG Video Import Issues (Not Trial)

Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to PP CS3. Up until recently I have been using basic Video Editing tools. I have decided since I like video editing so much, that I am going to try and go into it full force. So I bought my friends copy of CS3 Master suite off of him (because his company bought him two licenses and he only needs one so I got it cheap) and away I go.

So, with that in mind. Please be patient if I sound like noob because I am. I am a system admin, but when it comes to this stuff, I know very little compared to most of you I am sure.

Right now I am just doing something really basic to get my feet wet. I have imported a bunch of Kids shows I recorded using my Media Center PC and want to make a compilation of just the musical scenes for my little girl. I have done this type of stuff with Pinnacle in the past but I seem to running into a weird issue.

The video's are a standard MPEG 2 DVD compliant format. The capture card I use is a Hauppauge PVR 150 so it does the hardware encoding on the board.

If I watch these files on my TV or in Media Player Classic/WMP/VLC they all look fine. The minute I view them in PP CS3 they get this weird distortion. It looks like digital artifacts from say a bad digital cable stream, except it is all colorful and such. Dare I say the "Technicolor rainbow" :)

I thought at first that maybe it was just because the preview is a lower quality. So I did a small amount of editing and exported the video. After watching the exported video, the weird distortion IS there. So I am not sure what to do about this. I did see one post on the forums that suggested simply changing the file extension to AVI might help. I did this and odly enough, it did fix the video issue, but then the sound was completely out of synch.