24 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2008 7:47 AM by Phil Griffith

Premiere Pro CS3 - How to Save a Final Project to Make Changes to Afterwards

Level 1
      OK, I just registered to the forum and this is my first post/question.
      I'm fairly new to Premiere Pro editing , and I wondered if there was a way to save the whole edited project/sequence to an external drive in case the client wanted changes to the project after they had viewed it.
      I edit mostly weddings, so the projects are anywhere from 1hr 30m to 1hr 50m. I've watched all the lynda.com tutorials on Premiere, and I know about saving the final project as an ISO image file or as DVD folder, etc.
      Also, I thought I remembered hearing something about being able to 'delete' the footage that wasn't used in the project too, and just saving the edited project somehow? I just thought I'd ask before I go ahead and delete all the footage that pertains to this edit. I've made an ISO file, but it doesn't look like Premiere will load it; nor will it load the video_ts files/folder.

Anyway, so my questions are:
      1. Is there a way to load an ISO file to make editing changes?
      2. If not, then how could I save the whole project/sequence in order to load it back into Premiere to make any changes to the original edit?
      3. Does anyone here use Premiere for wedding edits? And if so, how do you 'save' projects for the longterm, in case you wanted to make changes to it?
      4. Once you have an ISO image file saved, how do you burn it through Encore? Or am I forced to use the Roxio Creator program?

I guess that's it for now. I'm sure there are many more questions that I need answered, but I'll save them for later. :-)

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions!
        • 1. Re: Premiere Pro CS3 - How to Save a Final Project to Make Changes to Afterwards
          Harm Millaard Level 7
          1. No.
          2. Copy all files to a separate disk.
          3. Yes, see above.