3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2008 2:44 PM by Jim_Simon

problem with image capture via firewire from sony camcorder TRV20E

I'm new to premiere pro. Have checked compat. of camcorder with PProCS3 and am told by Adobe technical team it is ok. So what am I not doing? I've followed the on-line help but still no video. It must be in the settings PLEASE can someone offer me some pointers. I've gone back to the Preferences - Device Control - options and having not found the model of the camcorder I've put the settings back to the default - but that made no difference.
      I'm working on a Mac and have even tried opening the camcorder in i-movie but it doesn't pick up the connection from the camcorder. Is this an oh so simple thing I'm missing? I'm really stuck and would really appreciate some feedback. Thank you
        • 1. Re: problem with image capture via firewire from sony camcorder TRV20E
          I had the same experience the first time i tried capturing with premier. I was using a canon camcorder with the firewire. I walked away from the machine, closed the program, opened it up again and it started working. So i would say, restart the program first, and if that doesnt work, restart your computer.
          • 2. Re: problem with image capture via firewire from sony camcorder TRV20E
            the_wine_snob Level 9
            Susan,

Several folk have had issues with Capture from a myriad number of cameras. As Matthew noted, his Capture worked with a certain sequence. Others have noted different sequences, that worked for them.

Sequences to try:
            1.) Plug in camera (iLink) and turn it on. Start PP and then Capture
            2.) Plug in camera, but do NOT turn it on. Start PP, then Capture, then turn camera on
            3.) Start PP, plug in camera, turn it on, then start Capture
            4.) Start PP, plug in camera, but do NOT turn it on. Start Capture, then turn on camera