9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2007 8:07 AM by (steven_erickosn)

RECORDING AUDIO

I have been recording my voiceover onto a mini DV then capturing it into adobe through the camera in the usual way onto Adobe premiere.

I noe want to record my voiceover straight into the computer. I can do this in windows vista and then import it into Adobe, but when I try to record my voice straight into Adobe - nothing happens. I keep reading about capture cards and stuff - do I need some new hardware/software? I am self taught and at very early stages. Can someone explain what i need to do in simple language to make Adobe 'hear' my voice over and record it.

Thanks
      Rachel
        • 1. Re: RECORDING AUDIO
          Harm Millaard Level 7
          Simple process: capture in PP from your DV tape, import into your project and edit away.
          • 2. Re: RECORDING AUDIO
            Steven L. Gotz Level 5
            That would be a little silly when you can connect your microphone up to your PC, then open Premiere Pro, select a track to record to, open the Audio Mixer, turn on recording and hit play to start the recording.
            • 3. Re: RECORDING AUDIO
              Harm Millaard Level 7
              Not if the OP has already recorded to mini DV as stated.

The OP is rather unclear in what he means:

> I have been recording my voiceover onto a mini DV then capturing it into adobe through the camera in the usual way onto Adobe premiere.

You have recorded it, so why record it again:

> I noe want to record my voiceover straight into the computer.

Capture it and you are done, unless you want to do it again in the way Steven mentioned.
              • 4. Re: RECORDING AUDIO
                Eddie Lotter Level 4

You will find links to a couple of voice-over tutorials in the Premiere Pro Wiki that will quickly show you how things are done in PPro.

Cheers
                Eddie

Forum FAQ
                Premiere Pro Wiki