10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2008 2:09 PM by the_wine_snob

Track Matte instead of Garbage Matte...

shooternz Level 6
      Any thoughts whether I can use Track Mattes instead of the "very broken" CS3 Garbage Matte. (I have never used Track Mattes before so thought I'd ask before having a play)

Another Green Screen shoot and I just want to lose the mic and the light frames. I need to animate the mattes a little.

How convenient will this be in a workflow?

Any tips will be welcomed.
        • 1. Re: Track Matte instead of Garbage Matte...
          Steven L. Gotz Level 5
          It is possible, but a bit of a pain in the neck. To do this, you might want to create the track matte out of multiple titles in a new sequence. That way it is easier to animate it.

You can have the footage you want matted out in the new sequence and when you get the matting done, poke out the eyeball of the footage track. Then use the new sequence in the original sequence as a track matte.

It is easier to use After Effects to create the track mattes with masks if you have it.
          • 2. Re: Track Matte instead of Garbage Matte...
            Curt Wrigley Level 4
            There is no eye poking needed in CS3. CS3 is smart enough to make the associated matte invisible without "poking the eye" and making the whole track invisible.

It depends how complex your matting requirments are. If its just coving a mic that moves due to camera movement, it should be quite simple. If its covering a moving organic object like a person, thats a bit tougher
            • 3. Re: Track Matte instead of Garbage Matte...
              the_wine_snob Level 9
              Steven,

The "multiple Titles" idea is a good one. I'd have built a "doorway" Matte, and then spent the afternoon doing Scale and Motion and cursing a bit. Thanks for that simple tip. One could do it with Crop and only do the Top, and Sides, but a lot of resizing, Keyframing the Crop. I like your idea better, than any that I had.