1 Reply Latest reply on Oct 1, 2008 8:02 AM by (Nils_A)

Having audio synch issues using MOTU V4HD to capture analog vid in Premiere Pro CS3

Im new to digital video so Im hoping I might be able to get some assistance here with my attempts to capture analog video using Premiere Pro CS3, as Ive been having quite a bit of difficulty.

Im an audio archivist working at a state archive that has a small video collection (approx. 250 60 minute tapes) that gets quite a bit of use. The material I am dealing with was originally 16mm film footage that was professionally transferred unto Sony ¾ Umatic and Sony Beta tapes some years ago.

This is my set-up:
      Sony UVW 1200 Beta SP Machine
      Motu V4HD converter (all drivers are updated)

Computer is:
      Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E6750
      Graphics Card: Nvidia Geforce 8400GS @ 512mb
      2 GB Ram
      Premiere Pro CS3 with all updates installed

Heres my signal flow:

Im passing the video out the Sony beta as component YPbPr using BNC connect coaxial cable, audio is stereo XLR. Video coming into the MOTU SD component input set to YPbPr, audio XLR in on MOTU analog stereo 1&2. Video & Audio travel to the CPU via firewire connection. In PrCS3 my project is set up using one of the MOTU presets to capture the material as 480i, 10bit uncompressed video, SD component YPbPr, 29.97 fps, analog stereo input.

The problem that Im encountering is loss of video/audio synchronization when I attempt to capture an entire video tape. After adjusting the buffer setting in the MOTU audio console I managed to get good synch when I pulled a segment of video that ran about 20 minutes in length. But if I try to run the entire length of a sixty minute tape the audio seems to get progressively faster and out of sync with the video. In some tests the audio might run as much as 8 seconds faster than its actual corresponding video frames.