5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 2, 2008 6:49 AM by Jim_Simon

Easy newb question

I've never done any form of video editing before but I am interested in it so I'll be watching all of those tutorial videos and faqs soon (now that I have Premiere)

But I need to get something completed quickly (example: today)
      I would assume this is pretty basic and someone may be able to just quickly explain the process to me. Guess I should get on with it huh?

I have a screen capture video of a application I built with quite a few moving parts (prototype doesn't take user input and menus don't work) I need to be able to "fake" some menus and configuration panels as if the user is navigating through them. I have jpg of the menu screen and I can get them to lay on top of the other layer then set some opacity but I can't place it anywhere I want (the video layer) not sure how to resize one layer and move it around on top of another one.
      Also is setting the opacity my best bet?

Well if anyone has any way to simply explain what I need to do for this then let me know. Second option would be if anyone knows a couple videos I can watch really quick (not to in depth) just to understand these features (and maybe more about frames/keyframes)
      Would be awesome
      Thanks
        • 1. Re: Easy newb question
          Harm Millaard Level 7
          Tutorials, help file and manual are good starting points, as well as at least a basic education in NLE.
          • 2. Re: Easy newb question
            Level 1
            Thanks. What's NLE?
            And since I have no experience in video editing I'm not sure what to look for in the help files. Any keywords you can give me to start with?
            Thanks again
            • 3. Re: Easy newb question
              Eddie Lotter Level 4

NLE = non-linear editor. Keywords you will be interested in are scale, motion and opacity.