8 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2009 1:10 PM by the_wine_snob

Multiplexing Dolby 5.1 in MPEG 2 Streams,

Hi Guys,
      I am new to the CS3 workflow. But I am trying to produce hi def mpeg2 streams with dolby digital.
      The streams seem to export fine. But I end up with 2 streams as a result. I have set the multiplexer to mpeg 2. I have set a video buffer to 5 as well as the audio. I am using variable bit encoding with 23, 24 and 25 Mbs for the Video rates and setting the mulitplexing rates to 26,000 kbs.

But the stream doesn't muliplex. If I choose the mpeg audio all is fine. But when I go dolby the audio stream is not included.

I am using mpegid to examine the mpeg stream for contents.

Any help would be great.

Cheers

Rodney
        • 1. Re: Multiplexing Dolby 5.1 in MPEG 2 Streams,
          the_wine_snob Level 9
          RodneyB,

Have you purchased the SurCode DD 5.1 SS plug-in yet? You will need that to encode 5.1 (after your 3 trial encodes).

However, it sounds like you you might need to go back a step or two.

1.) Is the Master of your Sequence set to DD 5.1 SS?
          2.) Then go to File>Export>Adobe Media Encoder and in the Audio Tab choose Dolby Digital for the "Audio Format." You can make your settings there, as needed.
          3.) I always Export as elemental streams, but if you want a mux'ed file, set that in the Multiplexer Tab. When done, hit OK. This is where you'll get three trials of the SurCode plug-in.

If you wish to buy the SurCode plug-in, make sure you do it from the pop-screen with the link to Minnetonka Audio's site, not by going there directly in your browser. The price is better from "within" Premiere. The difference was ~ US$50.

Good luck,

Hunt
          • 2. Re: Multiplexing Dolby 5.1 in MPEG 2 Streams,
            Level 1
            HI Bill,

Thank you for the reply. Yes I purchased the Surcode plug in.