4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2008 8:54 PM by Jim_Simon

Exporting Screen Captured Movie

Hi - I am a total newbie at this and basically got tasked with it at work because I know how to edit audio (some how they assume if you know how to edit audio then of course you can figure out how to edit video).

I have Adobe Premier Pro CS3. I am recording 30-60 min presentations using the Epiphan VGA2USB device. This device captures the VGA output of one computer and allows you to record that signal as a video file (.avi) on a second computer. I have been able to record very usable video using the capture software you can download from their website. This software allows you to specify a codec to use to compress the video(you can also record uncompressed but that takes of significant amounts of space and did not seem to yield that much better video). I have been using either the ffvfw MPEG-4 codec or the Indeo 5.10 codec. Both produce viewable videos at a 1024x768 resolution. The frame rate seems to hover around 10-15fps (it goes us when nothing on the screen is moving and drops as more elements on the screen move).

My issue arises when I import the video recorded into Premier and add sound (even when I import uncompressed video). I am using a custom project set at a resolution of 1024x768 and 29.97 fps.

I have tried more export compression options that I can even explain here and every time i end up with a worse video than I started with (I tried importing five different video recorded with different codecs and exported that sample combined video with most of the codecs available in Premier). The only time I got video that was slightly useable (though not great) was when I did the screen capture using the Indeo 5.10 codec, imported it into Premier, added sound and then exported it as a Quicktime movie using the MPEG-4 codec. And even then, the video was worse than what I started with.