26 Replies Latest reply on Nov 22, 2008 11:28 AM by (Anthony_Jurus)

Grainy dissolve

Hi,

I'm relatively new with CS3 so please bear with me.
      I've been doing fairly well, but am perplexed by a problem that
      should not be happening.
      At the end of my video, when I place a dissolve in, it is
      grainy---not a clean fade to black.
      I noticed it looks fine when I export to tape, but it looks terrible
      if I export to Encore and burn a DVD.
      I have Windows XP with a Tb of hard drive space. The system has
      3 GB of RAM and the processor is 2.50 GHz.
      The hard drive is a SATA - 2 Mirror RAID.

The DVD is a lower quality, but the dissolves within the piece are fine.

I would appreciate any help that someone could provide.

Thanks,

AJ
        • 1. Re: Grainy dissolve
          Jim_Simon Level 8
          Too low a bitrate is the only thing I can think of.
          • 2. Re: Grainy dissolve
            Level 1
            Jim,

Thanks for the reply. I use Progressive High Quality on my export setting. Under another export setting, I have the basic video quality
            at 4.0 (highest is 5.0)
            The bitrate settings are:
            VBR, 2 Pass
            Min: 1.5
            Target: 4
            Max: 7

I tried raising the max to 8.0 and it didn't make any difference.
            Should I try changing the minimum or target rates?

Thanks for taking a look at this.

Anthony
            • 3. Re: Grainy dissolve
              Harm Millaard Level 7
              If you don't understand encode settings let Encore do it for you. Export as movie and import into Encore. Encore will do the rest.
              • 4. Re: Grainy dissolve
                Level 1
                Thanks Harm---
                I tried the Encore method, but the grainy dissolve persists.
                I'll keep trying to figure it out.

AJ
                • 5. Re: Grainy dissolve
                  Jim_Simon Level 8