7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 1, 2009 11:56 AM by the_wine_snob

Extra Wide Video Dimensions

jfk00ca Level 1
      I am by no means a Premiere power user, but I've been creating pretty simple videos for the web for several years.

Recently I've had a strange problem with the widescreen output dimensions, where the video becomes "extra wide" compared to the source file. I've spent a lot of time trying different things to fix this, with no luck.

Details:

1) A client sends us a .vob file they capture from TV (yes, they have approval to use the clips online).

2) We run the clip through Cinematize (output to .mov because the .avi output always fails). The original clip is in a widescreen format (720 x 480).

3) We import the .mov files into Premiere to adjust anything needed and output to flash.

4) I just put the video in Premiere to 100%, did a screen capture and then opened that in Photoshop. Intead of being 720 x 480, the video dimensions are 720 x 400, so the vidoe is being compressed on its vertical axis.

5) On output, the video shows in the widescreen dimensions, with a large black band on both the top and bottom of the clip within the window, so that it is now squished on its vertical axis.

6) I have the added problem of having a black band appear on the top and bottom of the video on the output screen - this happens when I select flash for the output. The only way I can fix it is to change the video dimensions to 720 x 400.

Can anyone help me understand why this is happening and what I need to do to correct the problem? I've checked the knowledge base and other sources with no luck.

Thanks!!

Julie
        • 1. Re: Extra Wide Video Dimensions
          Harm Millaard Level 7
          Why make it so difficult? 720x480 with the correct PAR should be exported as 720x480 with the same PAR or correct for square pixels.
          • 2. Re: Extra Wide Video Dimensions
            Eddie Lotter Level 4
            > the .avi output always fails