34 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2009 4:57 PM by OsakaWebbie

How big can a project be?

OsakaWebbie Level 1
      I would like to keep 12 sequences in the same project file, for organizational reasons (so I can easily check for duplicate use of clips). Each is only about 3-4 minutes long (songs), but there are an average of about 30 titles and 20 video clips per song, plus transitions and effects. Currently I have finished about 75% of the work, and the project file is about 11MB and growing gradually. Recently its response is getting slower, I'm having to reboot more often, and twice it has crashed without warning after having quietly ceased doing auto-saves (both times I lost about an hour of work - yes, I know I should save more often!). This is my first project using CS3, so I don't know if this kind of behavior is normal, or if it's a pipe dream to expect to keep these songs in the same file. I have a Pentium D, 2GB of RAM, and recently increased my virtual memory to 8GB. It seems to me that 45 minutes worth of video with numerous edits would not be abnormal, but what do you think? Do you think I'll need to split this into two files before I'm done? Or are there tips you can share about how PPro uses memory and how I can help it stay stable and efficient? My husband's suggestion was to reboot once an hour as I frantically try to get this project done this week - that sounds annoying but I suppose I could do it if it really would help.
        • 1. Re: How big can a project be?
          Jim_Simon Level 8
          That behavior is not normal. Your specs exceed mine, yet I've worked with much bigger projects and had no issues at all. Something else is going on, though I admit I'm at a loss to suggest what.
          • 2. Re: How big can a project be?
            Okay, just for fun, I'll take the other side here. If you read the other threads here, I think you'll find that your problem is very, very common, to the point that I *would* call it normal.