26 Replies Latest reply on Feb 3, 2009 1:27 PM by Jim_Simon

HD quality

Soula-55 Level 1
      Given that one will not burn BluRay disks, but just will just watch videos on the computer,
      Given that one has an HD monitor, an HD graphics card and a fast computer,
      Given that one has a HD Mini DV camcorder (1080i), and Premiere CS3 or 4,

Can one produce a video file to be watched later on the computer, that will
      EXACTLY look like the preview on the monitor panel of Premiere?

Thank you for taking the time to help me clarify issues........
        • 1. Re: HD quality
          Harm Millaard Level 7
          Just play it again.
          • 2. Re: HD quality
            Soula-55 Level 1
            I am still confused....
            As I come from a photographer background, where I know how to control photo cameras inside-out, I am relatively new to videos which is totally different, so please give me one more clue.....

Can I export a file to be watched on a computer, that will look exactly like the preview on the monitor panel of Premiere?

In other words, in order to achieve crystal clear images, do I have to produce BluRay disks and watch on TV?

Thanks again

PS these files will not be destined for the web, they will be watched on an HD monitor
            • 3. Re: HD quality
              Harm Millaard Level 7
              Coming from a photographer background, if you start with a JPEG, edit some and save again as JPEG, you will have a generation loss. You know that. Same with video, if you start with HDV, edit some and save again, you will have a generation loss. So, to the original question, EXACTLY the same quality is impossible if you edit. However, the preview monitor delivers mediocre quality because it is a PREVIEW monitor, not displaying the final result, which is always equal or better than the preview monitor.
              • 4. Re: HD quality
                Soula-55 Level 1