8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 27, 2007 11:51 AM by (Dale_Bronk)

Changes from 1.5 to CS3????

Level 1
      I'm a complete noob. I really only do this as a hobby with my son's sporting teams making highlight vids to music, etc. I'm sure doesn't even come close to what you guys do, but I have fun. I probably only use about 1% of what the tool will give me. I've just upgraded from Premiere Pro 1.5 to Production Premium Studio CS3 and I instantly see a few things changed and was hoping you could help me figure out what the CS3 equiv is for each. I'm sure I will not use correct terminology so please forgive me and I hope you can understand what I mean.

1. I of course have multiple vid layers. Let's say my entire timeline goes for 30 mins. I may have a bunch of vid or audio layers that go anywhere from 5 seconds to several minutes. Well, in 1.5 I could select say a 20 second vid layer element and then press the home/end key on the keyboard and the current marker would go to the beginning/ending of the SELECTED element. This was great. Well, in CS3 the home/end keys only bring me to the beginning/ending of my entire sequence timeline. Very frustrating. How can I get my 1.5 functionality back as it makes way more sense for the home/end keys to go to the beginning/ending of what I have selected.

2. In 1.5 when I would make a title it would create a file on my hard drive for the title as well as add it to the project. Say I named my title "party", then you would create a party.prtl file. I could then easily copy that to my other projects where I may want the same title. Well, in CS3 it doesn't seem to create that file so if I want it reuse it in another project then I have to recreate it. How can I make it go back to the 1.5 way and create the file so I can reuse it.

Thanks,
      Dale
        • 1. Re: Changes from 1.5 to CS3????
          Steven L. Gotz Level 5