7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2007 7:36 AM by Harm Millaard

Working with network drives

(frustrated_one) Level 1
      Hi,

As storage was becoming a problem I bought a network storage enclosure which stores 2 SATA 500GB Hard drives. The idea is to just keep inserting new drives when each one runs out.

But since I have started using this, (round about the same time as upgrading to CS3) it takes ppro up to 15 mins to open a project. not a huge on either.

Im editing HDV from SONY V1E, 2Gb RAM, Dual core 3Ghz, Win XP.

Does anyone work from network drives? Anybody have any thoughts??

Thanks...

ps, also if i am working in ppro and change windows, to check email, etc. it takes around 3-4 mins for ppro to respond once i go back in...(?)
        • 1. Re: Working with network drives
          Level 1
          Editing native HDV is part of the reason why it takes long.

I have no experience with a network storage enclosure.
          • 2. Re: Working with network drives
            Harm Millaard Level 7

This works OK. So the question is what NAS is it, or is it a SAN, what OS is used on the server, what is your configuration in terms of LAN? Or is it just the enclosure (physical box) but not on a server and connected locally? What type of connection?
            • 3. Re: Working with network drives
              (frustrated_one) Level 1
              Hi,

(I really shoud have given all the details...)

The Server is on XP, as am I.
              The enclosure is a Datalink NAS, 1 Gb LAN.
              http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=509

I initially purchased it to use locally, but was told i really need to connect it to the network.

I am the only person who has access to the enclosure also.

the drives are Western digital 500Gb, i use the same in my tower, they're real good.

Im unsure about the LAN configuration.

Would you suggest i just put up with the time or try putting the drives in my PC(which would really render the NAS useless!)?

cheers,

Andrew