12 Replies Latest reply on Sep 9, 2007 8:24 AM by (Kevin_Aronson)

No audio with my video

I am a novice who just bought this software and for weeks I have been trying to resolve the problem of importing my video into PR Pro, but there is no audio with my video. I get this great video with no sound. I called technical support who indicated that I had to use .avi instead of .mpeg, so I purchased software to convert my videos to .avi but still have the same problem. I can't even get started using PR Pro and cannot get proper technical help when I call Adobe.

I am using a Sony DCR-DVD108 camcorder which does not have a firewire connection, so I import the files to PR from my documents folder on my computer. I have no problem using Windows Media Movie maker (free software)and my videos come out fine. I paid big bucks for PR Pro CS3,yet I cannot use it. Can someone please put me on the right path so I can start using Premiere!!!!! Thanks so much. Lenora
        • 1. Re: No audio with my video
          Jim_Simon Level 8
          In general, the problem is combining a consumer camera with a professional editor. Using a consumer editor, like Windows Movie Maker, works fine. For Premiere Pro, the best solution is to get rid of that camera and pick up a MiniDV camera.
          • 2. Re: No audio with my video
            Steven L. Gotz Level 5
            You don't say what software you purchased, but it should have the ability to export to DV AVI Type2 or you wasted your money.
            • 3. Re: No audio with my video
              neil wilkes Adobe Community Professional & MVP
              Sad to say, Jim is correct here.
              This type of camera outputs to DVD, and is not suitable for editing from. Best workaround I can think of is to drag into Windows Movie Maker, as you already are - and export from here as a DV AVI file that will be acceptable to Premiere
              • 4. Re: No audio with my video
                Jim_Simon Level 8