4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 17, 2007 6:00 AM by Jeron Coolman

Syncing & Multi Cam Help

Level 1
      I am very new to premiere pro cs3 having just come away from Pinnacle Ultimate which I got on very well with.

I have downloaded some stuff from linda.com which is very helpful but am having problems with multi cam & syncing.

I recently shot several bands using 3 cameras, 2 x Sony Z1s & a DV camera. The 2 sonys had time codes stamped onto the tapes & the DV didn't. I'm not however using any of the timecodes as they don't seem to match up, we synced up to start but during the night used 4 tapes each & the time codes were different.

Only one of the cameras recorded decent quality audio & I am trying to use this cameras audio as the main track.

However in premiere I just don't get the syncing, what to do to get the 3 camera tracks synced.

I am ultimately trying to get this lot synced & then using the multi cam window put together like that.

Sorry this is a bit long winded but hopefully someone has followed this & can help me oit or point me in the right direction. Thanks.
        • 1. Re: Syncing & Multi Cam Help
          Jim_Simon Level 8
          I would use the audio to sync with. Even though only one camera had audio usable for the project, each should have audio sufficient for syncing. Find something explosive, like a snare or kick drum, in each track, and move the clips around so they match.
          • 2. Re: Syncing & Multi Cam Help
            Level 1
            THere is no magic here - you have to visually sync them up or with audio cues. Then you get to do it again each time you change tapes. More than likely, you'll have overlapping clips, so once you nail a clip, lock it down.
            • 3. Re: Syncing & Multi Cam Help
              Level 1
              I get that I have to sync the tracks up but what's the best way to do this as ultimately this is all being viewed as a multicam track.