12 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2007 9:01 AM by (Jay_Gatz)

Auto paint a path?

Level 1
      Hi, I'm new to Premiere Pro CS3. I want to generate an animation showing the path my character traveled from point A to point B. For example, let's say I traveled by car from Chicago to San Francisco. I have my map of the USA in the background. Now, I want to show my driving path with a red line from Chicago to San Francisco. They do this kind of animation all the time, e.g., Indiana Jones, even in "Borat".

How do you do this in Premiere Pro? Or should I be doing this in After Effects?

Thanks much.
        • 1. Re: Auto paint a path?
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          I know this has been discussed before (but I don't have the message link) and I **think** the response was there is an existing tutorial for this (but I don't remember which tutorial site)

So... check these places

http://www.digitalvideoclub.com/index.php

http://ppro.wikia.com/wiki/Tutorials_and_articles

http://www.wrigleyvideo.com/videotutorial/index.htm
          • 2. Re: Auto paint a path?
            Level 1
            I could only find one tutorial -- the one in the digital video site. That tutorial seems to solve the route animation problem in a convoluted way. First, draw it in PhotoShop. Second, import it into Premiere Pro, third, draw the path with a pen tool, and then fourth, use the gradient wipe.

I was hoping it could be done directly in Premiere Pro. At the very least, a secondary app (e.g., PhotoShop, After Effects) could do it and then all one has to do is import that finished animation as a Quicktime clip into Premiere Pro, without requiring any more steps beyond putting the QT clip into the timeline.
            • 3. Re: Auto paint a path?
              John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP
              http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=adobe+premiere+pro+map+route
              • 4. Re: Auto paint a path?
                Level 1