8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 20, 2007 8:26 PM by TradeWind

Transitions didn't come back.

I am working on a project now that has me stumped. I am new to this video stuff by the way so forgive me if I am asking a stupid question. I own Production Premium CS3. I used the "cube" transition and the "slide" transition in my Premiere project file. I opened up my Premiere project file in After Effects and made color corrections to the composition. I then used Dynamic Link to bring that composition into back into Premiere. I then previewed the comp in Premiere and realized I didn't see the transitions. In After Effects, the transitions showed up as solids. I guess I was supposed to do something with them. :-) But, I don't know. What did I do wrong that stopped my transitions from working once the file came back into Premiere.

I am using a laptop with 2GBs of RAM, Windows XP sp2.
        • 1. Re: Transitions didn't come back.
          Jim_Simon Level 8
          Can you Dynamic Link a Premiere project in AE back into Premiere? I always thought the DL feature was more for clip level work.
          • 2. Re: Transitions didn't come back.
            TradeWind Level 3
            Sure...make a project in premiere, do all the sequencing and cuts you like, import into after effects, do all your jazz and then import the comps back into your premiere project.

Fun :)
            • 3. Re: Transitions didn't come back.
              Jim_Simon Level 8
              That's not DL though.

For a DL situation, you would have to start the Dynamically Linked Comp from within Premiere. It seems strange that you would then be able to import that same project into the DL'd AE comp and have things work when going back to Premiere. It's kind of like the cartoon vacuum sucking itself into infinity.
              • 4. Re: Transitions didn't come back.
                TradeWind Level 3