7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 25, 2007 12:34 PM by (Doug_DeVany)

Imported screen capture avi looks pixely in pp2 cs3

Okay this is my first post on here so please bear with me, I will try to make this any easy one.

I am using Adobe Premiere Pro cs3 and I have been trying like mad to get a usable screen capture incorporated into my videos. I work for an internet company and I am charged with the task of creating tutorial dvds for training new employees and new website owners how to use our software. I am a professional, but I have never had to use so many screen captured elements, to be truthful, I have not used any until recently.

I have tried importing flash files of the content I need into premiere, which as far as I can tell is impossible and not the way to go about this. I then aquired a program called Hypercam that allows me to screen capture directly to AVI which I thought was wonderful until I brought the avi movies into premiere. What I am seeing is the source go from looking near perfect when not in motion in the source window, then the instant I hit play, the pixels turn to crap and it looks terrible, unusable for my purposes as smaller text gets completely obscured. The same is true if the avi file is brought into the timeline, no matter if it's rendered or not.
      Upon closer inspection it appears that the pixels become wider and blurred when the video is played than when it is at rest.

The AVI files default properties copied directly from what premiere is telling me are as follows:
      Type: AVI Movie
      File Size: 22.6 MB
      Image Size: 1280 x 1024
      Pixel Depth: 1280
      Frame Rate: 10.00
      Total Duration: 00;00;17;17
      Average Data Rate: 1.3 MB / second
      Pixel Aspect Ratio: 1.0
      Depth is 16 bits.
      Compressor: 'CRAM', Microsoft Video 1

My project settings are:
      720x480
      dv ntsc PAR .9
      29.97 fps

My system is a Dell XPS 710 Quad core with Nvidia 768mb 8800 GTX card and dual monitor set up.