30 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2009 9:43 AM by (Luke_Humphrey)

CS4 Crashes continuously

I have been using Premier for years so I am not a newbie to the product. I have been using CS3 since it was released with great results. I wish I could say the same for CS4. Yesterday it crashed 9 times in a span of six hours. Once I did get through all the crashes I attempted to export to FLV (the plan was to do it overnight.) This same type of project 1 1/2 hours in length would take anywhere from 6 to 8 hours to export with CS3. This morning, after 16 hours, the time remaining was at 40:10:and some on seconds.

This thing is intolerable.

I have given up and have reverted back to CS3. In four hours today I managed as much work as I did in two days with CS4. Incidently, I have downloaded and installed the lastest revision.

I hope someone from Adobe reads these forums because from my perspective CS4 is a piece of ... well you know.

It wouldn't be so bad but I have a copy at home and one in the office, both of which I paid full price for. I feel ripped off.

Okay, I'm done venting. If others have had this type of experience, or knows of a fix, I would like to know.

Frank
        • 1. Re: CS4 Crashes continuously
          Jim_Simon Level 8
          Just out of curiosity, what type of media are you working with?
          • 2. Re: CS4 Crashes continuously
            rockyweih Level 1
            Frank
            I still use CS3 because I read these forums. CS4 has been a peice of you know! ever since it came out. I have never heard so many WORK AROUNDS just to make a video. If you read a while there are many problems with CS4. Good choice to stay with CS3, If I could upgrade for 10 bucks I would save my money right now. I would return both copies if you can. If people would refuse to use this program it might force Adobe to make a better program before it sells it next time. I would call Adobe ASAP and try for a refund. Good Luck