4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2008 12:44 AM by (unhitched)

Transcribe speech to text for FLV captioning

Hi,

I'm new to this product and would like to know if you can use the Transcribe feature to add caption cue points and text to an flv file?

Thanks for your advice.

cheers
        • 1. Re: Transcribe speech to text for FLV captioning
          Level 1
          Hi,

This is currently not possible in Pr CS4. However, this sounds interesting.Can you please explain further what is the intended workflow here?
          Thanks.
          • 2. Re: Transcribe speech to text for FLV captioning
            Level 1
            Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

I'm creating a lot of short clips for a project for which I am going to be adding subtitles for the hearing impaired.

As I understand it, Flash can use cue points/events and associated subtitles from an external XML file:

http://www.digital-web.com/articles/captions_flash_video_2/

It looks like Premiere/Soundbooth create a similar file when using the Transcribe feature but it seems very different to the format that Flash requires.

It would be very handy to be able to use Premiere to mark the cue points, attempt the speech to text, manually edit the subtitles where required and then export an xml file containing the cue points and subtitles with the FLV for use in Flash.

I'm really surprised this isn't integrated? - seems like a logical workflow: 

1) capture/edit videos in Premiere CS4
            2) use the Transcribe feature to add subtitles with cue points
            3) use Flash CS4 or Dreamweaver CS4 to publish accessible online video

I found the file that Soundbooth created when using the Transcribe feature.  Below is an excerpt:

testing
                                       Speaker Unknown

one
                                       Speaker Unknown

two
                                       Speaker Unknown

three
                                       Speaker Unknown