12 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2009 1:02 PM by shooternz

Windows Media Encoder...my new best friend

shooternz Level 6
      Windows Media Encoder Series 9

I have never seen it mentioned here and its a new "find" for me, so I wondered if anyone uses the Windows Media Encoder instead of the Adobe Media Encoder to create wmv content.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=5691ba02-e496-465a-bba9-b2f1182cd f24&displaylang=en

This is a seriously good bit of kit that suits my workflow very well.
      ie. I always have a Master or Intermediate file (uncompressed avi) and all my clients are well geared for wmv. In fact even the MAC clients are more receptive to wmv for preview, approval or file copies.

I am still learning to work this standalone application but the quality is awesome and it is extremely fast.

Did I mention it is free.
        • 1. Re: Windows Media Encoder...my new best friend
          Eddie Lotter Level 4

I have recommended the stand-alone WME many times in these forums in the past. I also added a link to it in the PPro Wiki section on Windows Media.

It has a lot more options than are available through AME.

Cheers
          Eddie

PremiereProPedia    ( RSS feed)
          - Over 350 frequently answered questions
          - Over 300 free tutorials
          - Maintained by editors like you
          Forum FAQ
          • 2. Re: Windows Media Encoder...my new best friend
            shooternz Level 6
            You have always been ahead of the game Eddie.

(Wonder why more people dont listen to you more...)

:-)

At least I have caught up for now.
            • 3. Re: Windows Media Encoder...my new best friend
              Eddie Lotter Level 4

Most of my output is for my MCE based home theatre. WMV gives me high definion video with surround sound. I'm a happy camper. :)

Cheers
              Eddie

Forum FAQ
              • 4. Re: Windows Media Encoder...my new best friend
                TradeWind Level 3