8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 29, 2009 6:58 PM by Jim_Simon

Editing Music Videos while maintaining music sync

tparty
      I am very new to CS4 and I'm trying to help my friend make a music video. My main question is how do I transition between the video that contains him singing the whole song, the video footage of the subplot. while maintaining the sync with the mp3 of the song? I don't know if this is the right way of stating this since I'm not familiar with all of the terminology yet.

Terry
        • 1. Re: Editing Music Videos while maintaining music sync
          Eddie Lotter Level 4

See the multi-camera tutorials.

Cheers
          Eddie

PremiereProPedia    ( RSS feed)
          - Over 350 frequently answered questions
          - Over 300 free tutorials
          - Maintained by editors like you
          Forum FAQ
          • 2. Re: Editing Music Videos while maintaining music sync
            Thrill Media Level 2
            It sounds like your subplot footage is not anything that needs to be lip-synced.

SO I would convert the mp3 to a 48k wave file since I am not sure that PP likes mp3s. And lay that in the sequence audio track 01.

Sync all of the video of him singing to the audio in video track 01.

Then add the sub-plot video in video track 02, covering any lip-sync edits in track one first and then as needed to tell the story.

Also, when editing music videos, especially if there are a lot of cuts, I will often start with a red matte and a white matte(colors are your choice) on the video track. Cutting between the two on the beat. Once you get a few timed out you can usually copy and paste till the end of song, providing the music maintains the beat. This will give you a visual que and allow for much faster video edits and "playing around visually" because you are not spending a lot of time looking at the wave form trying to find the "beat" edit point. Works for me anyway. :)

Good luck with it!