8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 2, 2009 6:22 PM by the_wine_snob

what to do to have clear photos?

I am a newbie, sorry. I am trying to create a slideshow with PPCS4 and some of the photos seem blurry, the quality just does not seem as good as when I view the photos on my computer. I will be viewing this on a tv via dvd. I import my pictures w/o them being scaled so I can have room to pan and zoom. I want to know what settings should I be using for everything to get the best picture? Should I be concerned about interlace/deinterlace? Does it matter if I choose 16:9 or 4:3 (it will be viewed on 16:9). I have read that photoshop scales things down better, should I do this and scale it down maybe 50% then bring it in and scale down further if I have to. I just want a simple list of what I need to do and how I should have all of my settings. I am sooo frustrated and upset. I understand how to do alot with PP I just don't understand all the settings and how to get them correct.
      thank you
      Martina
        • 1. Re: what to do to have clear photos?
          Jim_Simon Level 8
          Photos on a TV won't look as good as on the computer. The TV is MUCH lower resolution.
          • 2. Re: what to do to have clear photos?
            Thrill Media Level 2
            Start with the smallest size pictures that you can still pan and zoom. In other words you probably don't need a 4,000x3,000 pixel image unless you are planning on doing a long zoom out or something. Especially for a DVD sized project(non-HD) This will make it easier in PP to do your moves without slowing the system down too much. Yes, scale them in PS first.

If you want a 16x9 DVD then use a 16x9 project. Also, be sure that you use a progressive project(no interlacing) as this will look "cleaner" in the end result.

My personal choice would be to do this in AE, but it really depends on how big of project you are doing, how many photos, etc.

Hope that helps!