13 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2008 8:24 AM by Jim_Simon

DVD to Premiere for editing?

A few years ago I transferred our home movies from tape to DVD. I now want to edit those dvd's. In researching this, I found a suggestion recommending that the VOB files on the disc be renamed to MPG. This worked and I was able to import the video to my project. Missing was the audio. I read another suggestion of using a 3rd party app to convert the VOB files to AVI. There seem to be several products that do this but I am not familiar with them. Does anyone recommend a product? Is a 3rd party product necessary? Is there a better way to import the video/audio from the DVD's?

Any assistance/feedback is greatly appreciated.
      Tom
        • 1. Re: DVD to Premiere for editing?
          Level 1
          Re-capture through fire wire.
          • 2. Re: DVD to Premiere for editing?
            Level 1
            Thanks, I may not have prefaced this earlier, but I'm new to this, so please pardon my inexperience. How do I re-capture through fire wire?
            • 3. Re: DVD to Premiere for editing?
              Jim_Simon Level 8
              The earlier suggestion was incorrect.

You can convert the files using a variety of software tools, many of them free. VideoHelp.com is a good place to do research on this kind of thing.
              • 4. Re: DVD to Premiere for editing?
                Level 1
                Thanks Jim,
                I'll take a look. I appreciate your time.
                Tom
                • 5. Re: DVD to Premiere for editing?
                  Level 1
                  >The earlier suggestion was incorrect.

No it's not. I do it all the time.
                  • 6. Re: DVD to Premiere for editing?
                    Dont re-capture.

Use ULEAD to import from dvd and convert to avi type2.I never have problem with this approach.
                    • 7. Re: DVD to Premiere for editing?