7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2008 7:54 AM by (jean_gaudel)

Export from PP in uncompressed 10 bit darker than export as H264

First, I want to say that I am still fairly new to video, but coming from 40 years of photography, digital since my first 1Mpx Epson. I have been working lately on very large composite images of up to 100 Megapixels, shot in sections with a Canon EOS40D. I like very detailed images, and had stayed away from video until now because of the lack of quality.
      But HD is here now, and Blue Ray, and I am now shooting video and animation in HD1920X1080 with a JVC-GZ-HD7.
      After starting with the excellent iMovie 08 on my trusted 4 year old G5, I quickly realized it wouldn't cut it anymore, and upgraded a few months ago to the latest MACPRO 2x2.8MHZ Quad core with 10GB of RAM, 4X1GB hard disks, 2 of them in a RAID 0, the other 2 as scratch disks.I am running the latest version of Leopard 10.5.5

I am recording uncompressed footage directly to disk through HDMI, and editing the footage in full HD 1920X1080p with PP CS4. Even though I can import the uncompressed video in PP, it can't play it, so I convert the clips first to Quicktime AIC. They still look very good.
      As this forum amply proves, the new PP is buggy, but by and large, it works OK for me in HD, except for the bug in AME that resets the bit rate to 1000 when exporting as Quicktime , causing the movies to be very poor quality. But when setting the export Format directly to H264 , the output is excellent, and looks almost identical to what I see in the preview pane in PP CS4.
      My primary purpose for the moment, until I get a Blue Ray burner, is playback from the computer, either on my 30" Apple Cinema Display , or a Panasonic 50" Full 1080p HD Monitor, in the highest possible quality.