1 2 Previous Next 52 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2009 2:38 PM by Powered by Design

Best HD camcorder

I am still using PP 6.5 as part of the Video Collection Professional. I am building up my war chest to upgrade but that is daunting as I understand my old dualy athlon with a gig of ram won't cut it anymore. A new system is in the upgrade budget too so it could take awhile. I am a hobbyist/pro and try to do enough outside pay work (editing/transfer archive & DVD production) to fund my hobby. I've read some good things about HD camcorders and prices are reasonable so thought I would start shooting my home videos in it now for future editing and viewing enjoyment.

This is my question? Do you have any recommendations for a HD camcorders?

Here are my thoughts on the subject. I like the idea of MiniDV for storage. Over disks and flash.

I can get a Canon Recertified Model HV20 for $424. Is that a steal?

Here is my fear. When I upgraded from a Sony TRV240(Digital 8) to my Sony 3ccd TRV950 I did not see a big difference in quality/color saturation, especially for the money spent. I fear that I might be disappointed in HDV.

System board: Tyan Thunder K7 (S2462) NG
      Proccessors: Athlon AMP 1600, 1.4Ghz,
      Memory: (1024MB) 2- Kingston KVR266X7RC25/512, registered DDR memory
        • 1. Re: Best HD camcorder
          Harm Millaard Level 7
          First, invest in a good workstation. Your current PC doesn't cut it. Then, depending on budget, consider a camera.
          • 2. Re: Best HD camcorder
            Jim_Simon Level 8
            (Forum error.)
            • 3. Re: Best HD camcorder
              Jim_Simon Level 8
              If you're interested in HD, I recommend the entire chain be HD. This means not just the camera, but also a Blu-ray burner for your computer, Blu-ray player for your living room and of course an HDTV to view it on.