11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 14, 2009 1:25 AM by rlinsurf1

Blu-Ray workflow

rlinsurf1 Level 1
      Hi--

I've captured my source using mjpeg. I need to edit it, then encode it for Blu-Ray. I've never done this before, and I was hoping Premiere CS4 on Windows would be the right solution.

Can anyone tell me what their workflow is to do this? For example, should I use AVCHD for the encoding and if so, does Premiere do that?

Thanks.
        • 1. Re: Blu-Ray workflow
          Level 1
          Your source is mpeg, which I think Encore expects for Blu-Ray.
          • 2. Re: Blu-Ray workflow
            akribie Level 2
            There is a very significant difference between MJPEG (the stated source) and MPEG (a flavour of which ends up on DVD).

In CS4, there is a dynamic link between PPro and Encore, so at the basic level you can set up the sequences in PPro to match your source CODEC and leave it to Encore to transcode as required.

Investigation of subtle benefits (if any) of alternate strategies can follow once you have some projects behind you.
            • 3. Re: Blu-Ray workflow
              rlinsurf1 Level 1
              Hi, David--

So you mean the final encoding happens not in PPro but in Encore? So can Encore do AVCHD? That's the standard format for Blu-Ray I've been told. Or is there a better format to use?

Thanks again.
              Jeffrey
              • 4. Re: Blu-Ray workflow
                Curt Wrigley Level 4
                > So can Encore do AVCHD? That's the standard format for Blu-Ray I've been told.

You have been misled.

The standard format for Bluray is either MPG2 or H.264.