39 Replies Latest reply on Nov 22, 2008 7:50 AM by tuezday14

Social Networking Site

tuezday14

Hi,

I just purchased Dreamweaver CS4.I am new to this. I bought the book and My friend and I are going to do this together.

I would like to know what software I need to set up a social networking site with a twist in that it will be a business networking site.It will be free to members ,it will have a calendar with available dates,basic information,ID#,About Me section,areas of town they are willing to work at,Private Message area,A player,an album area and other areas, as well as placing different wallpaper HTML codes just like Myspace. I would like to add every single business that deals in this particular area( I don't want to disclose what it is @ this point) in the United States ,so this is big project.This is for business only.I would like the site supported by Ads.and with that in mind ,does anyone know how I can accomplish this? I have heard allot about Google Adsence,I would like my site to be right @ the top of Google or any search engine when someone does a search on my particular website.

Thanks in advance
        • 1. Re: Social Networking Site
          Level 7
          > I just purchased Dreamweaver CS4.I am new to this. I bought the book and
          > My
          > friend and I are going to do this together.

You will need a lot more than DW CS4 to accomplish this.
          To start with you need a programming language. Dynamic
          sites like this have databases and need programming to
          extract data.

• 2. Re: Social Networking Site
            JoeDaSilva Level 4
            The previous company I worked for built a site not unlike yours, aimed at the college crowd though. It took five of us a little over 1100 hours of design and development time, which came out to over $120,000.

Since custom development like that is probably out of our price range, you might consider looking for a pre-rolled "social networking" package.