1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 25, 2009 1:26 PM by Jeff Bellune

Noob question - what is the best common format to bring assets in as

I'm new to NLE video editing (and video editing in general). I purchased PPCS4 to edit and publish HD video of my kid that I'm shooting with a Sony HDR-HC1 and a Canon EOS 5DMarkII. My HDR-HC1 outputs HDV and my Canon outputs MOV files encoded with h.264. I'm figuring out that Premiere Pro doesn't do well with multiple video formats on the timeline (especially h.264). I'm also learning the difference between presentation and editing media formats.

First, am I correct in my assumption that it is best to render all of my assets into an editing format before putting them in my timeline?

Second, what is the preferred editing format that will give me an optimal experience in Premiere?

I'm using a machine with an Intel Core i7 processor with 3 GB of RAM. I'm upgrading my RAM to 8GB this week.

I'm editing my HD video with the intent of authoring DVD's and publishing to web. I need an editing format that will give me the flexibility to maintain the full quality of my originally shot media as well as being able to encode to easier to distribute media.

Thanks for any help or advice you in the community can give me.
        • 1. Re: Noob question - what is the best common format to bring assets in as
          Jeff Bellune Adobe Community Professional
          >First, am I correct in my assumption that it is best to render all of my assets into an editing format before putting them in my timeline?

Not necessarily. It improves things for some folks at the expense of the conversion time, but for others it is not required. I'd expect that your i7 can handle the native H.264 stuff. It'll definitely handle the HDV MPEG2 from the HC1.
          >Second, what is the preferred editing format that will give me an optimal experience in Premiere?