18 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2008 2:08 PM by Felix G

Best way to produce video for youtube

Hi all
      I am a newbie here but wondered if anyone has any tips for using PE4 to produce high quality youtube video. I am capturing HDV from a Canon HV30. (As aside if anyone has any questions about how to get the HV30 / PE4 combination to work, please ask)
      Exporting it directly to youtube using the preset in PE4 leaves me with decidedly inferior quality results. Does anyone have any helpers

Thanks
      Kevin
        • 1. Re: Best way to produce video for youtube
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional
          If you're just going to use the video as a 480x360 pixel video on YouTube (which is about all the bigger it lets you display) there's really no point in capturing in hi-def. You'll get better results if you downsample the video in the camcorder and work in standard DV, as we describe in our FAQs.
          http://www.adobeforums.com/webx/.3bc434fa

Our FAQs also advise you the best settings for creating a video for YouTube.
          http://www.adobeforums.com/webx/.3bc41287
          • 2. Re: Best way to produce video for youtube
            Robert J. Johnston Level 2
            You can just forget about those links as they are obsolete, unless you just need standard quality instead of high quality. Go over to http://www.Muvipix.com for the high quality thread.

http://muvipix.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=3063
            • 3. Re: Best way to produce video for youtube
              I did update the FAQ settings, based on your discussion on the Muvipix forum, Robert. Or at least I thought I did.

If you can tell me what more I should change, I'll be glad to do it.

As with many solutions, you're so far ahead of the pack on this one that we trust your insight implicitly.
              • 4. Re: Best way to produce video for youtube
                Level 1
                Thanks for your help guys.