12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2008 6:36 AM by (lori99320)

avi file video

I am new to Elements, just got it yesterday. I have a number of .avi files saved on my Vista machine from my Flip Video. So far the first clip I imported into Elements views and plays back just fine. Any other clip I import shows up almost completely black with a little line of video playing on the bottom of the clip. I looked at the clip properties and they all seem to be the same, they were saved in the same way. I've shut down and rebooted, still just the one clip shows up. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
      Lori
        • 1. Re: avi file video
          the_wine_snob Level 9
          Lori,

AVI is but a wrapper. It can contain a lot of different files, using different CODEC's. It is like saying, "I have a car." AVI is the equivilant of "car." What kind of car, which model, which engine, etc.?

My first stop would be to www.headbands.com/gspot and download and install G-Spot. It's a freeware program, that will tell you all sorts of info about your different AVI files. It will let you know if you have the CODEC's necessary to work with each, on your system. If not, it will give you the name and other details about it. Then, you'll need to grab Google and go find that particular CODEC. One word of warning: only install the CODEC's, that you need, one at a time. The various CODEC "packs," are notorious for doing less than a good job, and filling your computer with all sorts of trash, or even malware. Be careful of CODEC packs. Most are not good implementations of real CODECs and cause more problems, than they fix.

When someone tells me that they are getting no Audio, or no Video, from an AVI, I usually deduce that the AVI is encoded with DivX, or Xvid. These are delivery formats, and are not meant to be edited at all. They are heavily compressed, so quality is poor. When one re-compresses for delivery, the quality suffers another hit.