5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 13, 2008 5:42 AM by (editmachine)

My advice is to stick with version 3

Level 1
      My advice is to stick with version 3.

I find that v4 is strictly for complete beginners.

If youve done any editing before youll find it ridiculous .

Most of the things you want to do and did before are hidden and hard to find unless you look them up in help.

I put it on and soon abandoned it and went back to v3 ( or even v2) which are far better editing programs.

Do what you like but if your looking for an improvement your wasting your money with v.4

Bob Dutru ( retired abc news cameraman)
        • 1. Re: My advice is to stick with version 3
          Paul_LS Level 4
          Biggest problem with PE4 was with hiding the Properties panel, you need to right click on the clip to open it. PE7 is better in that there is an icon below the preview monitor... but still not ideal.
          • 2. Re: My advice is to stick with version 3
            PeterFDuke Level 1
            Right-click on the clip or click on icon is the same amount of work either way.

Correction: Version 4 requires Right-click and then click on Properties, so Version 7 has one less click.
            • 3. Re: My advice is to stick with version 3
              Level 1
              I have heard a lot about the 'Properties panel'.
              I find it strange as why its the bottleneck amongst all the guys, because while I edit the video, i rarely use the Properties panel, and thought that its was always a waste of space to keep it ON all the time.

In Version 7, with the icon in place, it solves the problem, I think.

Or may be my way of working with the application is different from the rest. I prefer doing all the editing (Placing, sequencing, trimming, titling) and then move to add effects whereever required. And so dont need the properties panel open throught the first few editing steps.