8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2009 6:21 PM by the_wine_snob

Create split screen scene in PE7

Does anyone know how to divide a video clip in PE7 in such a way that when it is played back it is divided into 2 scenes playing at the same time, one on top of the other?

Thanx!
        • 1. Re: Create split screen scene in PE7
          the_wine_snob Level 9
          John,

Your comment, "one on top of the other," is the key.

There are a couple of ways to do this.

One is to Crop the upper Video Clip (higher Video Track), and then, with Motion>Position, move it about.

Another is to apply a Track Matte to the upper Clip.

Hunt
          • 2. Re: Create split screen scene in PE7
            Level 1
            I'm still a little new at this, but matte appears to just lay one top of the other, if I read the help right. How do you crop a clips size?
            • 3. Re: Create split screen scene in PE7
              Paul_LS Level 4
              Use the Crop Effect from the Video Effects panel.
              • 4. Re: Create split screen scene in PE7
                the_wine_snob Level 9
                John,

Just as Paul states, the Crop Effect (with adjustment of that Effect in the Effects Panel) will probably get you very close. You will likely want to first use Motion>Scale & Position to size and place your Video Track 2 Clip, as needed, then use Crop to finish it off.

With Track Matte, you are close. There, you will want to create a Track Matte on Video Track 3 with a "window." This can be created in Photoshop, or with the Titler (use a rectangular Shape with only Fill, no Stroke). Add the Track Matte Effect to Video Track 2 Clip and link it to the Track Matte on Video Track 3. That Shape becomes the "window" for the Video on Track 2.