7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 9, 2009 3:00 PM by Barb__O

Organization Question

I am just getting started with Premiere Elements 7 and I have a few conceptual questions on organizing my videos.

I have been shooting family videos and now have about 15 DV tapes. I am thinking about replacing my camera but the new one may not be DV. SO i am going to import all of my tapes but my primary PC will does not have the space to hold it all so i was thinking about capturing the video locally then archiving it to my file server. Am I going to have issues with the organize tab with the missing videos and will it keep a record of the files when i move them to the server so when i bring them back to work on later i do not have to re import them? Do you have some suggestions on the best way to organize the tapes i import. As with pictures when i started it made since the way i did it but as i got more pictures and moved to Adobe i wish i would have do a few things differently.

Also is there any way to reduce the size of the files during the capture process? I am not sure that I will ever really need the AVI full quality.
        • 1. Re: Organization Question
          Barb__O Level 4
          James,

Do you have Photoshop Elements 7 also and if yes, do you plan to use the same catalog of video/photos for both premiere and photoshop elements?

If yes, then it might be better for you to post your question on the Photoshop Elements forum first because there has been some discussion on that forum about file servers and the PSE catalog. Now there may be some considerations that are specific to Premiere Elements, but since the background discussion and the experience with file servers and the PSE catalog exists on the PSE forum that is where I would start first if no one posts a specific Premiere Elements answer here in the next day.

PSE technical issues forum link is
          http://www.adobeforums.com/webx/.3bbb4ab0/
          • 2. Re: Organization Question