5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 11, 2009 12:26 PM by New Improved Chuck Engels

Preset pan and zoom not working together - PE7

I'm a newbie and know that once I get a hang of the key frame adjusting, I'll be able to fix this. However, in just trying to use presets for BOTH a pan and a zoom for a still image (as demonstrated in Muvipix video) I cannot get both to work on the same clip. I can get one or the other to work but as soon as I drag and drop the other on top of the clip it overrides the other. How can I get them both to work in concert?
        • 1. Re: Preset pan and zoom not working together - PE7
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional
          In my experience, many presets cancel each other out. In other words, when you add a new one to the beginning of a clip, it supercedes what was there before.

You may want to post to the Muvipix forum and see if Chuck can explain how he was able to do it.
          • 2. Re: Preset pan and zoom not working together - PE7
            New Improved Chuck Engels Level 1
            Hi Craig,
            Considering this is from a muvipix tutorial it might be best to continue the conversation there.

I would like to know what tutorial you are referring to, there are many and I can't remember them all anymore. It is possible that this worked in an earlier version but does not work in current versions.

I just tried a quick test in version 4 and one preset overwrote the other, about to try version 3 next. My suggestion would be to learn to keyframe yourself, it really is easier than you might think. There are plenty of keyframing masters over at muvipix that can help you learn quickly.

Steve's tip on keyframing is great also, lots of resources including right here at the Adobe forum. Many of the members here are also members at muvipix as well.

You could easily add the pan preset and then keyframe the zoom by yourself, it would be a good experience anyway :)