4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 6, 2009 1:49 AM by (beau_geste)

Change sound to mono to normalize audio of a movie?

Hi, newbie here. Sorry if this is obvious, just trying to learn & can't find this in the help docs so thought I'd ask here:

Without trying to sound like a whiner, it seems like no matter what DVD, TV, DVD player & recorder I've bought since 2000 I have to keep the volume remote in hand the whole time due to needing to turn up the sound to hear what the actors are saying then having to turn it down quickly due to explosions in the movie, loud background music, whatever (I live in an apartment so don't want to hear it from the neighbors).

I figured it might have to do with being forced to buy equipment with 5.1, surround sound, whatever.

I've tried a Surround sound Processor hooked to my TV but that didn't work.

So maybe I don't want mono as such but I just wondered what the best methods are for normalizing volumes for movies in APE7 if I rip amend and reauthor (and yes, the copies would just be for my own personal use etc. just my playing copies).

So let me know how to do this if I can with APE7, if not, any suggestions? Thanks in advance for the replies. :)
        • 1. Re: Change sound to mono to normalize audio of a movie?
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional
          There is no automatic way to make all your volume levels even in Premiere Elements. You can manually set volume levels for specific segments however.

Still, if all you're doing is recording TV shows and then editing them together, this probably isn't the right program for you. Sonic MyDVD will do what you need much more efficiently and with less strain on your computer's resources.
          • 2. Re: Change sound to mono to normalize audio of a movie?
            the_wine_snob Level 9