14 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2008 3:23 AM by Steve Grisetti

Highlighting a potion of a video Clip

Hi:

I am putting together a football highlight video of my son's games. I want to put an arrow or a shadow at the beginning of each clip to point him out in the video. Does anyone have any suggestion on how I go about creating this? I am new to editing videos. Any help would be great.
      Thanks
      Cathy
        • 1. Re: Highlighting a potion of a video Clip
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional
          You can create a layered Photoshop document and place it on a video track above your main video, positioning it as needed.

I've attached one you can use.
          • 2. Re: Highlighting a potion of a video Clip
            the_wine_snob Level 9
            Cathy,

Your post should have gone into the main section of the forum, as this is sub-form is for posting tips and tricks - the "how tos." Maybe Steve will move it to the main section.

Now, for your question, the way to "highlight" a moving object is with a Track Matte. Curt Wrigley has a good tutorial:
            http://www.wrigleyvideo.com/videotutorial/tutdes_ppro_blurface.htm
            on the basics of how this is done. I believe that this particular tutorial was done for Premiere 6.5, 7, but the basics will translate to PE.

Take a good long look at the tutorial and then post back to this thread (note: it might be moved to the main area) with any specific questions that you might have. Working with a Track Matte can seem complicated at first, but once you do it a few times it will not see at all difficult.

I also think there is a similar tutorial on the Muvipix Web site. If so, it will be specifically for PE. I'll see if I can locate that and get you a link to it, as well.

Good luck,

Hunt
            • 3. Re: Highlighting a potion of a video Clip
              the_wine_snob Level 9
              Cathy,