7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2008 9:21 PM by pwillener

Upgrade to Adobe Reader 9.0

Please bear with me as I am new at this, and I hope I'm in the right place for these questions. I currently have Adobe Reader 8.1.2 - do I need to upgrade to 9.0? If so, will the current PDF files that I have still open and would this also be why I can't get the flash player to install? I have uninstalled and reinstalled numerous times (flash player) and still no luck. My OS is Windows XP/Internet Explorer. And in addition, how can I take PDF that is to large to email down to a smaller size? Winzip didn't work on the receivers end. If anyone can help me it would be deeply appreciated.
        • 1. Re: Upgrade to Adobe Reader 9.0
          Ildhund Level 3
          My advice to those about to upgrade - don't! If Reader 8.1.2 is
          working for you, stick to it. This forum is full of complaints from
          people who've had trouble with version 9.

If Flash Player won't install, go to
          http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=tn_14157&sliceId=1
          and follow the instructions to remove the old version. Then go to
          http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash
          and download the installer for the new version.

I'm not quite sure what you mean when you say 'Winzip didn't work on
          the receiver's end'. Did he receive the file or not?
          --
          Noel
          • 2. Re: Upgrade to Adobe Reader 9.0
            ~graffiti Adobe Community Professional & MVP
            >This forum is full of complaints from
            people who've had trouble with version 9.

Of course it is. It's a forum that people come to to hep with issues. You could say the same thing about 8.x too (and 7.x and 6.x..etc).

As for the rest of us, we're running 9 on Win XP (and Mac Leopard ) without issue.