9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2012 2:43 PM by GeorgeAusNSW2223

invalid F drive

can anybody help me? i'm pretty new with this pc/ internet thing. and for some time i've tried to install ar9 but it doesnt work.. message pops up telling me i have a invalid F drive! i have an acer aspire 5601z laptop and it has(as far as i know)all the necessary software i need to install ar9..
        • 1. Re: invalid F drive
          MichaelKazlow MVP & Adobe Community Professional
          What is your OS? What version of Reader are you trying to install? Whas
          Reader ever on this computer before? Do you have an F driver?

Mike
          • 2. Re: invalid F drive
            Level 1
            Sorry but what is an OS? I've tried to install AR 9 and yes there was an AR 7 when i bought it. No i don't have an F drive.. not that i know. i mean i got my C & D drives, 4 usb-ports and a memorycard reader.. my guess is one of usb ports must the F drive, but i really don't know. when i install or uninstall, or even use my AR i get this message:

ERROR 1327. INVALID DRIVE: F:\
            • 3. Re: invalid F drive
              MichaelKazlow MVP & Adobe Community Professional
              Your OS is Operating System. I think you need to go to the Microsoft
              Website and find the Microsoft Installer Cleanup tool. Use it to remove
              all traces or earlier versions of Reader from the Windows Registry. You
              should then be able to install Reader again.

Mike
              • 4. Re: invalid F drive
                Level 1
                Ok I'll try it. Thanks.

Patrick
                • 5. Re: invalid F drive
                  Level 1
                  I just tred what you suggested and it didn't work :( I installed the cleanup tool, removed the AR and installed the AR 9. But the F drive is still invalid.. but then again. I don't know which traces it has left or what else to look for.
                  • 6. Re: invalid F drive