5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 10, 2009 9:49 PM by zxrg

Photos converted to pdf files by Adobe 9.0??

I am a rookie user.
      I recently downloaded Adobe 9.0 per a prompt on my PC.
      I went in today to look at some photos that I have had on this PC for about a year - save in standard 'folder-file-jpeg' format.

Somehow, and I did not do this since I would not know how - 4 of my vacation photo folder had been converted to Adobe pdf files. That's about 1000 photos.

This is not what I want - and not the format I use.
      How can I get them back to jpegs and stop this from happening again.

Thanks,
      Ken
        • 1. Re: Photos converted to pdf files by Adobe 9.0??
          Bernd Alheit Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          Adobe Reader doesn't create pdf files. What did you download?
          • 2. Re: Photos converted to pdf files by Adobe 9.0??
            Level 1
            What is the file extension of the photos that "were changed"? Unless it is .pdf, then nothing has changed. I suspect what happened is that those files are now defaulted to open in Adobe Reader. Go to Control Panel > Folder Options > File Types, scroll down to the file extension such as jpg and choose Opens with (your chosen program - perhaps Microsoft Paint).

You may have to uncheck box in Folder Options > View > "Hide extensions for known file types", to see the file extensions of your files.
            • 3. Re: Photos converted to pdf files by Adobe 9.0??
              Level 1
              Berndt and David,
              Thanks for trying to help me.

I have checked the following:

1. Photos in question now have a .pdf file extension.

2.I recently downloaded Acrobat.com, Adobe Air, Adobe reader 9.0 and Adobe Flash Player Active X.

3. I went to Control Panel, Folder Option and had 3 tabs to choose from: 1. General 2. View 3. Search.