4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 18, 2008 5:50 AM by MichaelKazlow

PDF /FDF  and reader troubles

Hello all,

I am a developer who has been handed an existing project which takes database data and builds a FDF file which is displayed to users in a PDF file.

This web app has worked for a good while. Now one of the users is experiencing problems when he brings up the page it is blank you see the pdf form but the fdf data was not included. In the process of troubleshooting I've installed several versions of Reader to test with since nothing in the app has changed I'm assuming something in the Reader has changed that is not working with my FDF like it once was. Now that you read all the noise let me ask you about the actual problem. In acrobat reader 9 on one computer it works fine. On my computer with same reader and browser It wont work at all(I dont get anything). Now there is one slight difference when I installed reader 9 I no longer get PDF's to open in the Browser window. I've read the instructions and have adobe set to open in a web browser. Firefox on the other hand has no handler for PDF file type though. I've uninstalled and reinstalled both the browser and reader and still get no file type listed in firefox.

If you need anymore info let me know
      and thanks in advance

Nathan
        • 1. Re: PDF /FDF  and reader troubles
          HI,

I have installed the Adobe Reader 8.0 to my system. Whenever I am trying to open any pdf via web it is showing an error as 'Could not launch the Acrobat reader'. When I tried to uninstall. I am not able to uninstall too. Getting error that AcroRead.msi not found.

Please suggest what to do ?

Thanks,
          Zahid Khan
          • 2. Re: PDF /FDF  and reader troubles
            We use a similar system, even using a .pdf form to capture data. The last reliable version of Reader for this process was v 7.1

It has been hit-or-miss with v8.