6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2008 7:49 AM by Todd_Kopriva

Are Expressions a Necessity?

Just a few questions with no fluff :) Also I am a beginner with After Effects but know enough to navigate my way around the application. AE 7.0

1. As a beginner should I focus on learning expressions/expression scripting in After Effects or should I wait till I've learned all the effects.

2. Is knowledge of more than just basic geometry and trigonometry required to learn expressions?

I know I can copy and paste alot of the expressions into my layers but I would like to learn how to at the least write a few of my own...just not sure if I should do that know as the program itself becomes easier but harder the more I learn.
        • 1. Re: Are Expressions a Necessity?
          Andrew Yoole MVP & Adobe Community Professional
          Generally speaking, I'd suggest that understanding the functions of AE should come before a strong knowledge of expressions. After all, expressions are merely another means of controlling parameters and effects. If you don't understand those parameters and effects, you won't know what you're controlling with your expressions.

That said, it's not necessarily a one-or-the-other learning curve. Simple expressions like Wiggle and Loop are great to know, even in your early days. The best way to learn something as broad as AE is to learn the absolute basics, then address tools as you need them.
          • 2. Re: Are Expressions a Necessity?
            Level 1
            Dmita_Levy@adobeforums.com wrote:
            > Just a few questions with no fluff :) Also I am a beginner with After Effects but know enough to navigate my way around the application. AE 7.0
            >
            > 1. As a beginner should I focus on learning expressions/expression scripting in After Effects or should I wait till I've learned all the effects.
            >