5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2008 9:45 PM by (Tana_Adams)

Text shattering or falling from the shape of a ball

I'm fairly new to After Effects CS4 and have been asked to have a ball bounce in from off screen and basically break into a bunch of letters that will drop and then form a sentence. I'm having trouble figuring out how to show the ball breaking up into letters spilling out. I'm currently looking at the reshape effect but I'm not sure this is exactly what I need. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks,

Tana
        • 1. Re: Text shattering or falling from the shape of a ball
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant
          I think you're going about this the wrong way. You should not be bent on actually trying to generate the text from the ball. You can easily simply have it appear as if "falling out of the Ball". This means, that the text layer by all means can be separate from the actual bouncing and only need to become visible when the bubble bursts. You can break the ball into fragments using the Shatter effect and by providing a respective Shatter map and gradient map, this could include some of your letters, but not all, most likely. The rest would then simply be disguised by additional debris created using additional instances of the same effect or other particle systems like CC Particle World...

Mylenium
          • 2. Re: Text shattering or falling from the shape of a ball
            Level 1
            Thanks, Mylenium...your comments are most appreciated. I'll try going down the path you suggested. For the "text ball" piece, I got something to work with masking but haven't been able to get the letters to "spill" out. I did touch on the shatter effect at one point but I couldn't seem to get the letters to just "fall" out onto the ground. They seem to burst into oblivion and fade out. Is there a way to control that?

Thanks,

Tana
            • 3. Re: Text shattering or falling from the shape of a ball