7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 7, 2009 3:48 AM by OsakaWebbie

Making star fields: Transparent layers for stars made with noise?

OsakaWebbie Level 1
      I'm trying to do what David Bogie described here: David Bogie, "How can you create a flying through space effect?" #4, 16 Jul 2008 7:28 am. But I'm a real newbie in AE (I have 6.0 and have owned it for years but only used it about twice or so - I do everything else in PPro), so I'm getting stumped on basics. What kind of layer should I do this with? The choices in 6.0 are Text, Solid, Light, Camera, Null Object, and Adjustment Layer. I tried a solid black layer, but it is indeed very solid - when I make a second one, the first is never seen again. Null Object and Adjustment layers don't seem to respond when I put the noise and threshold effect pair on them, so they are apparently the wrong type for this. There seems to be no such thing as a Transparent layer type, or is there?

A secondary question (sorry to put two questions in one post, but it's probably simple) is about the threshold effect. It seems that the result is either pure white or pure black - I started with noise of varying lightnesses and even color, but when I use threshold to thin it out (to make it more like stars), the result is only bright white dots and nothing else, no matter what threshold level I choose. Am I missing something simple?
        • 1. Re: Making star fields: Transparent layers for stars made with noise?
          craulmedia Level 1
          do you want to create a smooth flight trough a star field or a "light-speed" flight?

here´s an example of creating stars with Ps and Ae http://library.creativecow.net/articles/velez_dean/Starfield.php

if Photoshop is not available, you can create the background in Ae using a bigger composition first for creating stars with fractal noise, put the "stars" comp into a newly created (your TV Standard) Comp and continue with part two of the tutorial. you'll get the idea.