4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2009 7:42 AM by CantinaDan

Interpolating Position Farther than I Specify

CantinaDan
      Hello, I'm very new to AE (please be merciful!)

I have an object that I've imported from Illustrator. I have a keyframe representing position "A" and a keyframe for position "B". (The object simply moves across the stage from left to right.) Anyway, when I scrub the timeline the object overshoots the second position and then bounces back as I get to the "B" keyframe. Can't understand why this is happening. I have no custom easing applied.

I'm using CS3. Any advice would be much appreciated!
        • 1. Re: Interpolating Position Farther than I Specify
          A. Cobb Level 3
          Check your motion path. Odds are the bezier handles are pulled out in the direction of the motion. The quickest fix for this is to change the spatial interpolation of your keyframes to linear.
          • 2. Re: Interpolating Position Farther than I Specify
            Level 1
            This rebound effect is caused by Bezier interpolation of the temporal keyframes. You can actually see this in the Composition Window if you've elected to display keyframes in the preferences and you have position keyframes selected in the timeline.

The easiest fix is to simply select the keyframe that is giving you the problem in the Comp window, then hold down the G key. Your cursor will change to something that looks like > when you hover over the keyframe. When you click on the keyframe the interpolation changes from Bezier to Linear and solves the problem.

You could also select the Bezier handle and drag it around to fix the problem.