8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2009 6:30 AM by mbbrooks58

new user- help with exporting to AVI

mbbrooks58
      I'm just beginning to use this program & testing how it exports as AVI (into powerpoint). What my problem is- the video plays much faster when it's previewed in powerpoint than it does when I preview in AE. This is for patient education & I need things to move slowly. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
        • 1. Re: new user- help with exporting to AVI
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant
          Check your composition frame rate. PowerPoint assumes a given frame rate (12 or 15fps in most cases, adjustable via the options) and items will not play correctly if there's a mismatch. Also most AVI formats do not correctly embed timecode and timebase information, making the problem worse. If you can, work with WMV files and embed them as a MediaPlayer object rather than a movie clip. This will guarantee best performance and exact playback and also looks a lot better due to less compression artifacts.

Mylenium
          • 2. Re: new user- help with exporting to AVI
            mbbrooks58 Level 1
            THank you. Now another question- I didn't see exporting as WMV as an option, would I export the animation?
            • 3. Re: new user- help with exporting to AVI
              Mylenium Most Valuable Participant
              You need to add the stuff to the Render Queue (which, by all means, should be your standard rendering procedure rather than using Export) using Composition --> Add to Render Queue. Once there, you can click on the Output Module settings and select Windows Media as the target format. Since you will be using this regularly, it might be a smart idea to create an output module template with suitable settings, so you don't always have to manually adjust everything.

Mylenium
              • 4. Re: new user- help with exporting to AVI
                mbbrooks58 Level 1